A Teacher of Technology in Education

This is a great article, one which I as a primary subject educator feel at times as well. When I walk into my 6th class for the day. Some really compelling thoughts here. May be not in my life time but possibly when my children are adults or parents themselves, this may be a reality? Would love to see this become a reality in my life time!! Great post.

EDUWELLS

A major problem in High schools is their lessons. Those short 1 hour sessions that relate to a specific subject, where in most cases, the teacher stands and delivers ‘learning’.from the front. I’ve spoken before about teacher talk, so I wont go over it again but it’s time to challenge the timetable.

Here’s a summary of how my students have voiced their concerns about the typical high school day and also what I have observed as teacher:

High School's Biggest Problem

4 Problems with lessons

  1. 6195581056_281fa13715_zLessons cancel each other out: The unmentioned part of any high school teacher’s job description is to ensure that no student in their classroom is focused on what happened in the previous lesson. Students are to forget or at least change focus entirely to what is happening in their current setting. How are any young people to take anything seriously if our timetable doesn’t? [image credit]
    .

View original post 420 more words

Leave a Reply

